img_06391

Ginger Snap Tea

I just spent a majority of my Shabbat fighting a migraine, so now that the pressure is finally beginning to ease, I am turning quickly to ginger tea, the most appealing drink I can think of it — easy to veganize, great for the end of Shabbat, spicily powerful enough to clear my still-throbbing head. Raised to be a lover of spice, this tea hit just the spots!

(Recipe adapted from the Global Table, a site that is quickly becoming an all-time favorite! Her recipe was inspired by a Swahili ginger and milk tea.)

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup grated ginger (about 3 inches of ginger, unpeeled)
  • 1/4 cup black tea (decaf, if desired)
  • 1 quart water (4 cups)
  • 2 cups almond milk
  • 1/4 cup agave nectar (w/ one teaspoon raw turbinado sugar mixed in)
  • pinch of cinnamon

Method:

Bring water to a boil on the stove (1 quart = 4 cups). While the water is on the stove, grate 1/4 cup ginger, peel included.

Image

Then add the ginger and black tea to the boiling water and simmer for 3-5 minutes.

Image

Add almond milk and agave/sugar mix. Continue simmering until agave/turbinado sugar mixture dissolves.

Strain and serve! And, of course, enjoy!

Image

Recently, I began to suspect an allergy to wine, and after less than a glass of white wine last night, I have concluded that wine is mostly likely off the table for me — like forever. It’s a weird thought, but its role in triggering some of my migraines is enough for me to part ways completely.

Now, with my mug in hand, I’m thinking of Havdalah. Though it is a ceremony that I, honestly, very rarely indulge in, I am turning to this tea with it in mind. When I poured my ginger snap tea from the pot to my mug, despite great care, it spilled over the sides. It made me smile to think that I am, and my home is, blessed with an abundance of goodness and that which is sweet in this world. Steaming vegan ginger tea in hand, I am welcoming myself to a quiet and more serene Sunday with Blu Greenberg’s “How to Run a Traditional Jewish Household” — a classic I have finally added to my growing shelves of Judaica! All in all, a great end to what could have easily been a sad Shabbat indeed.

2 thoughts on “Ginger Snap Tea

  1. My wife and I have been experimenting with many teas ever since deciding that an evening happy hour was getting too expensive and not good for our health.

    I like your recipe but have never come across agave nectar. What is it like and does it have any decent substitutes?

  2. So it turns out agave nectar is debateable. I’ve heard it’s good, and I’ve heard it’s not good. I need to do more substantive research on it, BUT, in the meantime, I can tell you that my go-to alternative is usually turbinado sugar (raw brown sugar). Potentially worth trying, but I am not sure how it would taste in tea is brown rice syrup. If you end up trying another sweetener in this tea, or in anything else, I’d love to hear how it turns out. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

